National Workshop on Quantum Information and Information Security 2018

05-11 October 2018 (7 days)


To hold a collaborative meeting on quantum infromation processing and information security.

Topics to be covered

Quantum Information, Entanglement, Quantumn Key generation, Secret Sharing, Cryptography, Information Security

Benefits of the Conference

Over the last two decades quantum information and modern cryptography made a significant progress in the field of information security and provided us solution which will cease information theft and hacking. in particular, they are called as quantum-safe cryptography. To protect data from an eavesdropper having access to a quantum computer, the sensible way out is to build a system which is resistant to attacks. Consequently it is essential to built systems which will be resistant to attacks to highly classified defense and security database. In that context understanding, doing research and holding meetings in each of these areas are very important

Organizing Team

  • Dr. Indranil Chakrabarty (IIIT Hyderabad)
  • Dr. Subhadip Mitra (IIIT Hyderabad)
  • Dr. Ashok Kumar Das (IIIT Hyderabad)
  • Dr. A. K. Pati (HRI, Allahabad)
  • Dr. Ujjwal Sen (HRI, Allahabad)
  • Dr. Aditi Sen (HRI, Allahabad)
  • Mr. Amit Srivastava (ANURAG DRDO, Hyderabad)

Local Organizing Team

  • Mr. Kartik Pasumala
  • Mr. Chiranjeevi Vanarasa
  • Mr. Dhrumil Patel
  • Mr. Rounak Mundra
  • Mr. Divy Sitlani
  • Mr. Vijeth Aradhya
  • Ms. Mahathi Vempati

Poster Presentation

We welcome the partcipants to present posters of your work in both Information security and quantum information.

Venue: Auditorium, 4th floor, Kohli Research Block, IIIT Hyderabad


1 Dr. A. R. Usha Devi Bangalore University, Bengaluru
2 Mr. Amit Srivastav ANURAG, DRDO, Hyderabad
3 Prof. Anirban Pathak Jaypee Institute of Information Technology, Ghaziabad
4 Prof. Archan S. Majumdar S. N. Bose National Centre for Basic Sciences, Kolkata
5 Prof. Arun K Pati Harish-Chandra Research Institute, Allahabad
6 Dr. Digambar Pawar University Of Hyderabad,Hyderabad
7 Prof. Guru Prasad Kar Indian Statistical Institute (ISI), Kolkata
8 Dr. Manik Banik S. N. Bose National Centre for Basic Sciences, Kolkata
9 Dr. Neeraj Kumar Thapar Institute of Engineering and Technology Patiala, Punjab
10 Dr. Nirman Ganguly Heritage Institute of Technology, Kolkata
11 Dr. Odelu Vanga Birla Institute of Technology & Science (BITS), Pilani, Hyderabad
12 Prof. Pankaj Agarawal Institute Of Physics, Bhubaneswar
13 Dr. Rajarshi Pal Institute for Development and Research in Banking Technology (IDRBT), Hyderabad
14 Dr. Satyabrata Adhikari Delhi Technological University, Delhi
15 Prof. Subhash Chaturvedi Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Bhopal
16 Dr. Sushanta Karmakar Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati
17 Dr. Vivekanand Bhat Manipal Institute of Technology, Manipal, Karnataka

Registration Link    (Open till 27th September 2018.)


  • Applicants who register before 21st September 2018 will only be considered for accommodation.
  • Confirmation of your participation will be communicated by email on or before 30th of September, 2018.
  • Applicants from outside Hyderabad who need accommodation will be confirmed by 22nd September, 2018. Accommodation and Travel allowance (3AC train fare) will be given subject to availability.

Coming soon...

Reaching Hyderabad by a train and getting down at the Hyderabad (Nampally) station would be the easiest way to reach us. The institute is 16km from Nampally railway station. From the railway station one can take an auto or APSRTC bus (Nos: 216 & 217) to reach IIIT-H. The auto would cost around Rs.110/- and bus fare would be around Rs.12/-.

If one is coming from Secunderabad station which is around 23km from IIIT-H, the auto fare would be roughly around Rs.150. One can take an APSRTC bus to Mehdipatnam (Nos:5 & 49M), and another bus from Mehdipatnam to IIIT-H (Nos: 216, 217).

Some trains, especially those coming from Bombay, stop at Begumpet Railway Station which is about 16km from IIIT-H. If you plan to come by bus, take bus No.49M from there to reach Mehdipatnam and then another bus (Nos: 216 & 217) to reach IIIT-H. An auto from Begumpet Rly Stn to IIIT-H direct might cost your around Rs.100/- (approx.)

Some trains from Mumbai also stop at Lingampalli, which is just 7 kms from IIIT-H. Autorickshaws and shared mini-taxis (tempos) are available.

If one is reaching Hyderabad by bus and getting down at Mahatma Gandhi Bus Station, then one can reach the campus by APSRTC bus numbered 216 or 217 which would cost around Rs.15/-. (Note: Bus numbers 216K and 216L do not go via the institute campus).

N.B.Sometimes autos at the Railway stations may refuse to come to Gachibowli particularly, if you arrive late in the evening. You can then take an auto till Mehdipatnam and then take another auto to Gachibowli from Mehdipatnam. Local Travel Car Rental Services Typically, you can rent a car for 4hrs/40KMs (Rs.400/- or 8hrs (Rs.600/-) with additional charges for extra house and distances.

Metered Taxi Services: Typically they charge @ Rs.15/- per kilometer with a min. of Rs.60/4kms. Dott Cabs: +91-40-2424 2424 Easy Cabs: +91-40-4343 4343 Cell Cabs: +91-40-2324 2526 Meru : +91-40-4422 4422

Metered Autos : 3 wheelers or .Autos. are fairly popular in Hyderabad. Slightly larger shared-ride 7-seaters will charge by distances, usually Rs.3/- per km. They travel on fixed routes. The smaller .3-seaters. are metered and charge Rs.8/- per km (min. Rs.10/-)

Directions from Hyderabad Airport: (Cost around Rs.250-500 by taxi) Shamshabad (Airport) -> Aramghar Jn -> Angri Jn-> Attapur -> Nalanagar -> Tolichowki -> Darga -> Gachibowli -> IIIT-H. From Shamshabad Airport it is highly advisable to take a government approved pre-paid or metered radio cab to IIIT-H Hyderabad.


Dr. Indranil Chakrabarty, Asst. Professor

IIIT Hyderabad, Prof. C.R.Rao Road

Gachibowli, Hyderabad - 500032, Telangana

Email: nwqiis2018@iiit.ac.in

For Information

Mr. Kartik Pasumala

IIIT Hyderabad, Prof. C.R.Rao Road

Gachibowli, Hyderabad - 500032, Telangana

Email: nwqiis2018@iiit.ac.in

Ph: 040-6653-1264